Home

I stay alone, I cater for myself, I am responsible for my decisions and their consequences. But its more interesting to note that my landlady (the owner of the building I stay) also stays in the same compound, that I stay in. She is aged and is moving towards her latter years. The area I stay is a little bit rural, thanks to the NYSC (National Youth Service Corps) program I am partaking in. I can call it an active community because unlike other areas, people actually interact and communicate very well. Every evening isn’t as silent as you would expect, it is when all the gossips, and talk of the town is spoken of. Both the little and old have something to say, as there are new events that unfold daily 🙂

There may be no superstars where I stay, but I must confess that the goats are highly recognized. By just looking at a goat, members of the community can tell you its owner. And so I get to see goats of many colors; (Painted by their owners of course) pink, red, yellow, blue, for recognition sake. Goat meat is a very special meat to many because it is really delicious and so is taken seriously. It is a very sad incident for any goat to leave home in the morning and not return in the evening, the owners especially are the most affected because the goat is an investment.

I was privileged to indirectly be part of the domestication of a wild goat, that my landlady wanted to keep at home. The process is very simple; keep the goat that has been used to freedom tied down for as long as possible, to help it get very familiar with the surroundings. The only disturbing part of this is the amount of bleating this young goat made to cry for freedom. Unluckily for me, the goat was tied down at night not too far from my window. So every night, I got to hear very loudly, the prayers and the sounds it made for help and freedom. This goat would practically be crying “Meeeh Meeeeaah Meeeeaaaah” at 2am in the morning. I was forced to be the first to hear this aspiring goats song album, because I heard every sound 😦 .

image

Now this stubborn goat knew the routine, that it was going to be tied down at night. Thankfully the location had been changed 🙂 On this fateful evening, I watched this goat resist being tied and dragged to the back of the house. I thought “Phew, maybe this goat has become wise and would run away!” Until my wise landlady did something; she got some fresh yam peels and placed it in a bucket, brought it to the goats nostrils, the goat didn’t just perceive it, it also got to taste it. My landlady now began to take the bucket away from the goat gradually, and the goat followed, got to taste more anytime it tried resisting until it walked to the exact spot where it was to be tied down. I shook my head sadly because I know that that’s the same way the goat would be taken to the slaughter house. So sad! 😦

We can relate with this story can’t we? Many of us live normal lives that we just want to get better. Many of us are like the goat; we want to be free, we want to resist the sins that have held us bound, we want to have the chance at a new life BUT we find ourselves still walking back into the same sins and the same pits over and over again! It gets worse, darker and even deeper! Anytime we try to step back, the devil draws us back with the same sins that have held us, and keeps us chained even stronger, until the day of no return, the day life ends in the chains. There is an end to the life in chains, that day is either the day one is fully free or one dies in the chains. There is a way out! We don’t need to end up like my landlady’s goat is going to, we can be free! No matter how little or great the sin is, you can be free.

When every effort is futile and giving up is the next option, try Jesus Christ. He has destroyed the power of what you are dealing with many years ago on the cross of Calvary! All you need to do is believe him and let Him take over your life, then sin would drop off with ease. Jesus became sin, and died bearing those sins that we may be free. You are free already, but accepting Jesus today is the only way to experience that freedom. Jesus would lead you and show you how to be free, to that many can testify! 🙂

My landlady’s goat is one of the many that has walked down this road and many more will still walk down this road. The sin realm is the devil’s realm, just as my landlady’s compound is her realm, as long as you remain there, you cannot be free, just as the goat will never be free until it runs out of the compound. You can be free today, and I believe you will 🙂

“Sin will always cost you more than you intended to pay, it will take you further than you intended to go, and it will keep you longer than you intended to stay”

“For when you were slaves of sin, you were free in regard to righteousness. But what fruit were you getting at that time from the things of which you are now ashamed? For the end of those things is death. But now that you have been set free from sin and have become slaves of God, the fruit you get leads to sanctification and its end, eternal life. For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” 
Rom 6:21-23(ESV)

‘Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God. For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” 
2Co 5:20-21 (ESV)

15 thoughts on “My Landlady’s Goat

  1. These Words are the perfect words for most christians today, praise be to God that you are spirit led. It is an awesome piece and I was blessed by it.
    Thank you sir

    Like

  2. Pingback: Here’s What Happened Why The Move Didn’t Work Out (To Be Continued) | StrawberryCouture Hats

Say Something About This

