Home

Early one morning, I was having that kind of sleep that makes you wish the time goes back one hour after it goes forward one hour, and on and on, so you get to savour and explore every minute of the sleep. My plan was going well until I was brought out of the subconscious, well it would have been worthy if it was a phone call, but it wasn’t. I came back to earth hearing the sound of a cock crowing by my window ‘Cock-A-Doodle-Doo’. Finding out what it was, I tried to rush back immediately into my sleep shuttle and travel back to dreamland. Every time i was just getting away, I was drawn back by this roosters crow. (In fact as I am writing this piece, another cock just crowed not too far away *sigh*). This cock had crowed by my window in previous times, but it never stayed long. I was hoping this morning was going to be the same. Unknown to me, the cock had its own plans! The more i tried to sleep, the more it kept crowing, and very loudly too. It must have crowed about 15 times, and it succeeded in making me miss my sleep shuttle flight.

image

I was MAD, I then decided that it was time for this chicken to meet its forefathers where ever they go when they die. I didn’t even care that it wasn’t mine! The owners should have kept it in the cage. It is a very rare scene to see a young man chasing a cock very early in the morning, but I was ready to be unique. So I armed myself, ready for the kill, and ran outside, heading to the exact spot it had been shouting for me to wake up. Surprisingly, I just didn’t find it there. I sure felt like a fool at that point, I turned and searched, but this cock was nowhere to be found, until I heard it crow again. This time it was already at the next house giving them some quality crows. When did animals become mind readers? I became weak at that point, I just couldn’t continue with my butchering plans any more. As I went back into my room with my eyes now clear, I heard its crows growing faint and more faint in the distance, as it went to more houses to wake them up, and give them a few sounds.

At least for those minutes I could fully understand why Jesus chose the rooster to crow after Peter denied him. These creatures have a way of alerting you and jerking you back to your senses, sometimes it even sounds like mockery or jest. The last thing you want is a bird correcting you after you do wrong, its the same reason why some people don’t like parrots around. What struck me the most was the bird’s zeal, and the fact that it went from house to house crowing. Suddenly, this question popped in my mind “How many people do this for their friends? Tell them the truth, alert them, correct them even when they are wrong, without caring whether they are hurt or disturbed?” The question got to me and I shook my head, “Very few” I responded. Many people would rather watch their friends fail to just stay in their good books, they’ll encourage their doing wrong things because they still want to obtain benefits from them. Many of them even pleasure in their friends folly as long as they are not affected, only to come back when the folly is fully blown beyond proportion to say “I knew it!” I learnt such a huge lesson from that rooster that morning. After that day, the cock never came back to wake or disturb me, it may have been eaten already, who knows? But that moment of truth, I would never forget. This reminds me of something my mentor, Pastor Emmanuel Iren once said: “Isn’t it ironic that people say they love their friends and they don’t preach the truth to them, because they don’t want to break the friendship?? If you love your friend you’ll tell him the truth. The truth is, not until you are ready to risk losing a friendship to the truth, you have not even started being a friend. I think its high time you asked yourself “What kind of friend am I?”

This is the lesson I learnt from the true life experience I just shared with you. Can you pick out other lessons from this scenario I found myself in? Kindly comment and let’s gain from your perspective. I’ll appreciate if  you’ll share this post with others and follow this blog by mail. Thanks. 🙂

Facebook: Vctory Odunjo
Twitter: @victoryodunjo
E-mail: victoryodunjo@gmail.com

9 thoughts on “The Cock I Almost Killed

Say Something About This

