Home

I wish I knew how to write this article right, but I don’t know. I’ll basically just try to pass the message across. I was just hit by the news of the death of Robbin Williams, he really contributed to a lot of amusement, fun and laughter I had when I was younger and growing up too, this guy just knew how to get a good laugh out of me. It became so easy to recognize his voice when his voice was used in cartoons and animations like Aladdin, Popeye, Happy Feet and the likes. The movie that endeared him to me the most was his role in Mrs Doubtfire, as a father that was restricted from seeing his children, that changed and became a nanny, practically started wearing old women’s clothes and putting up make up and a wig, as a means to draw close to his kids. I remember Flubber, Night At The Museum and many more. He won many awards as well. One can’t stop but have fond memories.

image

That was all we saw on TV, a picture of a man full of life and bubbling in joy and happiness, but really, there was a lot more than joy and laughter on his plate in the real world. From extramarital escapades to divorces to addictions . It was beyond what we all expected. Yes, we all feel he could have done better and maybe, he didn’t deserve all that hurt, but he did. We all have our struggles. However, what blows me away is the end of his life. How he died; suspected suicide, because he had previously been dealing with depression! Its not like he was cracking some jokes, and he fell of the stage and that was it. He probably would have laughed if he watched some of his movies again, but why depression? One thing was clear, he had a good heart.

image

I could decide not to write a thing about his passing on, but this kind of sums it up for me. Its just amusing how majority of the celebrities end up dying! Have you not thought about it? Michael Jackson, Whitney Houston, many more? Just think about it for a minute. There is just something lacking to the end of a seemingly ‘glorious and celebrated’ life lived on earth. Its not a great family, beautiful children, a lot of money in the bank account, flashy cars, castles or a mansion, not even popularity. Because in their last moments these things couldn’t save them. I see a very BIG void in the lives of those that are celebrated in our world today. It’s that void that is being filled up with drugs, addictions, lust, cars, acquisitions, fame, wealth, even giving to the poor and needy, trying to live a good life and making others happy. But those things are still not big enough to fill up that void.

image

I wonder why many of these celebrities didn’t just try JESUS and stick to him. The son of God sent by God to the earth many years ago to redeem and free men from their sins and give them a hope beyond their shortcomings, failures and death, here on earth, into a new life of peace joy, freedom and happiness. He totally sacrificed himself by dying on the cross and taking our sins upon him, that we may be free, he rose from the dead after 3 days to show us that sin and death have been defeated and we all are risen with him into a higher realm of glory. He then ascended to heaven, practically levitating into the clouds in the presence of many, till he could no more be seen. A sign that we should keep looking up to him throughout our lives. There is no better life than the life of the believer in Jesus Christ, we may fail, we may stumble, but it is sure that we would rise again. We can’t be held down by depression, and addictions, because we have a greater hope. I really hope you share this post with other people, that the good news can be spread all around that we don’t have to live lives that look good while we are dying on our insides. We all can have on our insides the Holy Spirit sent to us when Jesus returned to heaven. I know that when I die, that is not the end for me, the way many people think the end is. I’ll just be translated to my father’s kingdom, which I already was a part of here on earth. But I’ll have lost my body and my earthly look and thoughts, and become totally spirit.

My dear friends, I am writing this to you to show and tell you that there is a greater hope for you, someone that can fill the void in your life that you have been trying to fill with other things, and that person is Jesus. He doesn’t come to leave you hanging in the balance, he comes to reveal the plan he had for you before you were born, and to accomplish it with you. Consider Jesus today, give him a try, and watch the turnaround that he’ll bring into your life. He died for you.

Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?” John 11:25-26

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him! For if, while we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life!  Romans 5:8-10

I celebrate, the man Robin Williams today, but beyond that, I think and wonder for myself and for you too, what would the end of your life and mine would be like, after all we are currently chasing after to achieve and become?

image

You can reach me on:
BBM: 7BDC014D
Facebook: Vctory Odunjo
Twitter: @victoryodunjo
Mail- victoryodunjo@gmail.com

Image Source: Google Images

3 thoughts on “On The Death Of The Legend: Robin Williams

  1. Brilliant mind. Good heart. Manic depression. With Jesus in the equation, manic depression goes away replaced by Holy Spirit filled Joy. As simple as that. Oh if only they could see it. No wonder God said that the gospel is like foolishness to those who believe not. It logically sounds too simple. But it is that true. We all are living testimonies. If only….

    Like

Say Something About This

